The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), which cleared the way for the Women’s Premier League (WPL), a top-tier T20 competition that unites all of the international stars in one location, is preparing to establish a framework for red-ball cricket on the women’s circuit in the nation.

The highest authority overseeing the game in India will host a six-team zonal red-ball competition in Pune to introduce women’s cricket players to the multi-day format.

Six teams—North, South, East, West, Central, and North-East—will compete in the much awaited tournament.

The competition is scheduled to begin on March 29. The competition dates are March 29, 30, and 31. 

The quarterfinal winners will move on to the semifinals. It’s expected that both semi finals will take place at the same time, on April 5–7. The dates of the final are April 9, 10, and 11.

The ongoing Women’s Premier League has been especially taken into consideration when designing the schedule. The WPL 2024 tournament’s championship match will take place at New Delhi’s Arun Jaitley Stadium on March 17.

In order to give Indian players (both domestic and centrally contracted) adequate time to recover and refuel before the red-ball grind, there is an 11-day gap between both competitions.

WPL 2024 off to an explosive beginning

The Women’s Premier League (WPL) is off to a fantastic start in its second edition. There have already been a few nail-biting dramas in the six-team competition, and it looks like more to come. Delhi Capitals (DC) have won two of their last three games and are now top of the rankings with four points. Both the Mumbai Indians (MI) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) have four points overall, although they lag behind DC on the net run rate (NRR).