The Women’s Maharashtra Premier League (WMPL), which is set to launch in June of this year, has named Smriti Mandhana, the vice-captain of the Indian women’s cricket team, as one of its iconic players.

Under the auspices of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), the Maharashtra Cricket Association (MCA), the state governing body, officially announced the four-team franchise-based Twenty20 event.

According to an announcement from the MCA, “MCA will be the first association from the BCCI to start a state league for women.”

Starting on June 24, the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Gahunje will host the competition.

Aside from Mandhana, Devika Vaidya, Anuja Patil, Kiran Navgire, and Shraddha Pokharkar are other prominent symbol players competing in the competition.

Along with numerous other individual awards, the first competition will offer prize money of Rs 20 lakh for the winning team and Rs 10 lakh for the runner-up.

It is planned that the teams’ auction will happen on April 27 and the players’ auction will happen on May 11.

“The WMPL is a major step forward in Maharashtra’s promotion of women’s cricket. According to Rohit Pawar, the President of the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly and a member of the MCA, “the tournament will be broadcast live on JioCinema and Sports18, reaching cricket enthusiasts across India, to ensure widespread coverage.”